Chemical & Environmental Safety Committee

The Chemical and Environmental Safety Committee (CESC) is responsible for advising Environmental Health and Safety on policies regarding the safe ordering, acquisition, storage, use, exposure, and disposal of chemicals in Georgia Tech facilities.  The CESC also oversees the development of procedures by Environmental Health and Safety to develop and enforce chemical hygiene plans. Lastly, the CESC monitors periodic risk assessments and reviews Georgia Tech's compliance with policies and procedures.

CESC Members:

  • Chair: Dr. Meisha Shofner (Materials Science & Engineering)
  • Dr. Rachel Chen (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Ryan Lisk (Environmental Health & Safety)
  • Jerry O'Brien (College of Sciences)
  • Dr. S. Balakrishna Pai (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Dr. Pamela Pollet (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Bob Rose (Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology)
  • Brad Satterfield (College of Engineering)
  • Dr. Todd Sulchek (Mechanical Engineering)

Ex Officio Members:

  • Dr. Bill Baron (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • David Marder (Environmental Health & Safety)
  • Nazia Zakir, MS (Environmental Health & Safety)
  • Morgan Wright (Environmental Health & Safety)
  • Miriam Tallman (Georgia Tech Research Institute)